JS Bach: Transcriptions for Guitar

Naxos: 8572427

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
JS Bach: Transcriptions for Guitar



Catalogue No:




Release date:

3rd Jan 2012




| Share

JS Bach: Transcriptions for Guitar

Bach, J S:

Lute Suite No. 2 in C minor, BWV997

arr T Hoppstock

Prelude, Fugue & Allegro for Lute in E flat major, BWV998

arr T Hoppstock

Keyboard Concerto in D major (after Vivaldi), BWV972

arr J Perroy

Partita No. 2 in C minor, BWV826

arr T Manoukian

Judicaël Perroy (guitar)



This item is currently out of stock at the UK distributor. You may order it now but please be aware that it may be six weeks or more before it can be despatched.

It was Francisco Tárrega, composer and guitarist, who first transcribed Bach’s music for his own instrument, offering colour, tonal variety and clarity in an exploration of counterpoint. Tristan Manoukian’s transcription of the Partita No. 2 honours the precedent in its virtuosic and expressive writing. It is possible that the Suite and the Prelude, Fugue and Allegro were originally conceived for the so-called “lute-harpsichord”, a keyboard strung with gut that sounded like a lute. Bach’s version of Vivaldi’s Violin Concerto transforms and refashions it, and the guitar transcription is perfectly suited to convey the richness of its invention. Prizewinning guitarist Judicaël Perroy is one of the most exciting talents to have emerged in years.

Click on any of the works listed above for alternative recordings.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.