René Maillard: Surviving after Hiroshima

Naxos: 8572623

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
René Maillard: Surviving after Hiroshima



Catalogue No:




Release date:

27th June 2011




70 minutes



Contemporary Music - up to 25% off

click here for full details

special offer ends 23/10/2017

| Share

René Maillard: Surviving after Hiroshima

Maillard, R:

Surviving after Hiroshima, Op. 24

Sarah Jouffroy (mezzo-soprano), Eléonore Lemaire (soprano), Marie Pouchelon (mezzo-soprano), Teddy Henry (tenor) & Virgile Ancely (bass-baritone)

Concerto Grosso, Op. 17

Emer McDonough (flute), John Anderson (oboe), Michael Wright (clarinet), Daniel Jemison (bassoon) & Christopher Parkes (french horn)

Concerto da Camera No. 2, Op. 16

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, Dionysios Dervis-Bournias


Normally: $7.00

Special: $5.95

Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

Awarded the Prix de Rome in 1955, René Maillard achieved fame as a young French composer with works such as the virtuosic, Baroque-inspired Concerto Grosso and the Concerto da Camera No. 2, which combines classical and folk elements, before taking up an executive career outside the world of music. Returning to composition in 2000, Maillard has continued to create new works of power and beauty such as Surviving after Hiroshima, based on the dramatic true story of Kyoko Hama.

Rene Maillard: Survivre apres Hiroshima (Surviving after Hiroshima), Op. 24

6 ans a Osaka (6 years old in Osaka)


La guerre… (The war…)

Elle fuit les bombardements (She flees the bombardments)

Elle trouve refuge a Hiroshima (She finds refuge in Hiroshima)

De profundis

Noir de peaux noircies (Dark with blackened skins)

Cette pluie mortelle (This lethal rain)

Survivre contre la haine et la guerre (Survive against hatred and war)

Notre espoir: survivre (Our hope: survive)

Vivre bien sur notre Terre (Living well on our Earth)

Rene Maillard: Concerto Grosso, Op. 17

I. Introduzione: Andante maestoso - Moderato

II. Tema con variazioni: Allegretto grazioso

III. Adagio moderato - Allegro molto e giocoso

Rene Maillard: Concerto da Camera No. 2, Op. 16

I. Moderato

II. Largo - Adagio sostenuto

III. Allegro assai

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.