Gershwin: Piano Concerto in F & Rhapsody No. 2

Naxos: NBD0025

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Gershwin: Piano Concerto in F & Rhapsody No. 2



Catalogue No:




Release date:

30th Jan 2012




Blu-ray Audio
| Share

Gershwin: Piano Concerto in F & Rhapsody No. 2


Piano Concerto in F major

Second Rhapsody

I Got Rhythm Variations

Blu-ray Audio


Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

24-bit, 96 kHz Stereo and Surround Recordings

George Gershwin’s Concerto in F was a response to demands for a ‘proper concerto’ after the success of Rhapsody in Blue, avoiding programmatic content while providing a feast of tunes both uplifting and nostalgic. Originally intended as music for a film, his up-beat Rhapsody No. 2 describes the bustling Manhattan cityscape while under construction. Sourced from his hit musical Girl Crazy, I Got Rhythm Variations was Gershwin’s last full score. Pianist Orion Weiss is one of the most soughtafter soloists and collaborators of his generation of young American musicians.

Young soloist Orion Weiss is already established in the US and is rapidly making a name on the world concert stage. The Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra lead by JoAnn Falletta already has a large Naxos following through acclaimed releases such as Corigliano’s The Red Violin (8559671).

BBC Music Magazine

January 2013


“A sizzling Gershwin collection. Falletta paces magnificently, Weiss's pianism is refined and the orchestra is sparklingly swaggering. All captured in marvellously realistic sound.”

MusicWeb International

24th March 2014

“The performances themselves are very good indeed: lively and supple, with playing from Orion Weiss of marvellous aplomb - although he sounds closer at some points in the concerto than in others.”

Click on any of the works listed above for alternative recordings.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.