Ravel: Orchestral Works, Vol. 1

Naxos: NBD0030

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Ravel: Orchestral Works, Vol. 1



Catalogue No:




Release date:

29th Oct 2012




Blu-ray Audio
| Share

Ravel: Orchestral Works, Vol. 1


Alborada del gracioso (orchestral version)

Pavane pour une infante défunte

Vocalise-étude en forme de habanera

Jennifer Gilbert (violin)

Shéhérazade - Ouverture de féerie

Menuet antique


Blu-ray Audio


Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

Ravel orchestrated his piano pieces Alborada del gracioso and Pavane pour une infante défunte to great effect; the former gains in suggestive colour, and the latter evokes nostalgic pathos. Another orchestrated work is the Menuet antique, which is redolent of old French dance forms Rapsodie espagnole, Ravel’s first major orchestral work, shimmers with expectancy and bursts into Spanish dance rhythms, themes he pursued in Pièce en forme de habanera. His earliest orchestral work, the ‘fairy overture’ Shéhérazade, is all that remains of a planned opera based on The Thousand and One Nights. The famous Boléro, an ‘orchestrated crescendo’ of undimmed power, has proved one of the most popular works in all classical music.

Click on any of the works listed above for alternative recordings.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.