Walton: Symphonies Nos. 1 & 2

Onyx: ONYX4168

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Walton: Symphonies Nos. 1 & 2



Catalogue No:




Release date:

20th Oct 2017




73 minutes


| Share
Released or re-released in last 6 months

Walton: Symphonies Nos. 1 & 2


Symphony No. 1 in B flat minor

Symphony No. 2


Normally: $15.00

Special: $13.50

Scheduled for release on 20 October 2017. Order it now and we will deliver it as soon as it is available.

Walton’s First Symphony burst onto the musical scene in 1935 and quickly became recognised as a masterpiece. The influence of Sibelius and Beethoven can clearly be heard, but it is Walton’s brilliant use of the orchestra and grasp of form that shines through: a remarkable achievement for a composer of 33 years. The Second symphony has never had an easy time, in both escaping the shadow of its older sibling, and in overcoming the hostility of the late 1950s and early '60s when avant-garde was de rigeur. Fortunately it is now clearly a masterpiece to rank alongside No.1. It is assured, mature and confident, subtle and refined, from a composer at the top of his game. High voltage performances from Kirill Karabits and the Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra.

The Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra is Classic FM’s Orchestra in the South of England. It was formed in 1893 and throughout its illustrious history it has worked with some of the finest composers, conductors and musicians in the world including Elgar, Bartók, Sibelius, Holst, Stravinsky, Vaughan Williams and Sir Thomas Beecham.

William Walton: Symphony No. 1

I. Allegro assai – Poco meno mosso – A tempo, agitato – Poco meno mosso – Agitato poco a poco – Animato

II. Scherzo - Presto con malizia

III. Andante con malinconia

William Walton: Symphony No. 4: IV. Maestoso – Allegro, brioso ed ardentemente – Vivacissimo – Agitato – Maestoso

Symphony No. 4: IV. Maestoso – Allegro, brioso ed ardentemente – Vivacissimo – Agitato – Maestoso

William Walton: Symphony No. 2

I. Allegro molto

II. Lento assai

III. Passacaglia - Theme, Variations, Fugato, and Coda-Scherzando

Click on any of the works listed above for alternative recordings.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.