Ashton: Rhapsody & The Two Pigeons

Opus Arte: OABD7180D

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Ashton: Rhapsody & The Two Pigeons


Opus Arte

Catalogue No:




Release date:

30th Sept 2016







Up to 70% off Opus Arte

click here for full details

special offer ends 11/09/2017

| Share

Ashton: Rhapsody & The Two Pigeons



Music: Sergey Rachmaninoff

Natalia Osipova & Steven Mcrae


The Two Pigeons (complete ballet)

Lauren Cuthbertson (The young girl), Vadim Muntagirov (The young man), Laura Morera (A gypsy girl) & Ryoichi Hirano (Her lover)


Normally: $34.25

Special: $27.40

In stock - usually despatched within 1 working day.

Two Frederick Ashton ballets in one exquisite evening performance. Principals Natalia Osipova and Steven McRae dance Ashton’s Rhapsody, created for the Royal Ballet in 1980 by Mikhail Baryshnikov and Lesley Collier, with spectacular choreography to suit the dancers’ star reputations.

Lauren Cuthbertson and Vadim Muntagirov lead a charismatic cast in Ashton’s poignant and heart-warming reflection on Love, The Two Pigeons, based on an old French folk tale and first performed on Valentine’s Day 1961. These two ballets by the company’s founder choreographer capture the Royal Ballet’s famous skill and distinctive style. Barry Wordsworth conducts the Orchestra of the Royal Opera House in the rapturous Rachmaninov and Messager scores.

Extra features:

Includes an introduction to Rhapsody, an introduction to Two Pigeons, exploring the choreography of The Two Pigeons and a cast gallery.

Running time: 118 minutes

Sound format: LPCM & DTS Master Audio 5.1

Click here for alternative recordings of this work.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.