Birth of the String Quartet Volume 2

Solo Musica: SM143

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Birth of the String Quartet Volume 2

Catalogue No:




Release date:

31st Oct 2011




61 minutes


| Share

Birth of the String Quartet Volume 2

The Sound of the 18th century


Flute Quartet in B minor, Op. 12, No. 2

version for string quartet


String Quartet, Op. 76 No. 1 in G major


String Quartet No. 10 in C major, K170


Quartet TWV 43:G5 (Concerto) in G major for flute, violin, viola & b.c.

version for string quartet

Casal Quartett



(Sorry, download not available in your country)

Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days. (Available now to download.)

Never before a String Quartet had four valuables instruments of the violin maker Jacobus Stainer from the 1650 century available, never before a String Quartet has sounded in such a way.

With VOL. 2 of this series the Casal Quartett moves the French and German roots of the kind in the center. Beside works of Guillemain and Telemann you can listen to one of the early Viennese quartets of Mozart and from Haydn the first masterpieces from op. 76. With this performers and these instruments the real Sound of the 18. Century will be present for the first time.

Georg Philipp Telemann: Quatrieme livre de 6 quatuors: Quartet No. 5 in G Major, TWV 43:G5 (version for string quartet)

I. Adagio

II. Allegro

III. Adagio

IV. Allegro

Louis-Gabriel Guillemain: Flute Quartet in B Minor, Op. 12, No. 2 (version for string quartet)

I. Allegro

II. Aria

III. Allegro

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: String Quartet No. 10 in C Major, K. 170

I. Andante

II. Menuetto

III. Un poco adagio

IV. Rondo: Allegro

Franz Joseph Haydn: String Quartet No. 60 in G Major, Op. 76, No. 1, Hob.III:75

I. Allegro con spirito

II. Adagio sostenuto

III. Menuet: Presto

IV. Finale: Allegro ma non troppo

International Record Review

February 2012

“the Mozart offering is a relatively early work...It is also a splendid performance of genuine depth, rich in character and instrumental colour - whether the colours are necessarily those of 1797 or whether there is just a touch of Baroque in the sonority hardly matters.”

Click on any of the works listed above for alternative recordings.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.