Amato Belcanto

Solo Musica: SM188

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Amato Belcanto

Catalogue No:




Release date:

2nd Sept 2013


68 minutes


| Share

Amato Belcanto


Casta Diva (from Norma)


Si, vuol di Francia il Rege...Ah! Quando all'ara scorgemi...Ah! Dal ciel discenda un raggio (from Maria Stuarda)


Di tanti palpiti (from Tancredi)

Assisa a' piè d'un salice (from Otello)

Bel raggio lusinghier (from Semiramide)


Tu che invoco (from La vestale)

Viviana Araiza Staffini (soprano)

Plovdiv Symphonic Orchestra



(Sorry, download not available in your country)

Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days. (Available now to download.)

In the early nineteenth century, composers commissioned to write new operas received from the impresario a list of the singers in the solo ensemble so that that the parts might be written to suit them. The rise of bel canto consequently had a lot to do with the vocal potential of the female singers who were to play the title roles - the great prima donnas of the day. The mezzo-soprano Viviana Araiza Staffini was born in Munich and spent part of her childhood in the USA and Italy. She studied at the Munich College of Music and completed her studies at the International Opera Studio of the Zurich Opera House.

Vincenzo Bellini: Norma, Act I

Norma, Act I: Casta diva - Ah! Bello a me ritorna

Gioachino Rossini: Tancredi, Act I

Act I: Di tanti palpiti

Act I: Dolci d'amor parole

Gioachino Rossini: Otello, ossia Il moro di Venezia, Act III

Otello, ossia Il moro di Venezia, Act III: Canzone del Salice: Assisa a pie d'un salice - Preghiera: Deh calma, o Ciel

Gioachino Rossini: Semiramide, Act I

Semiramide, Act I: Bel raggio lusinghier

Gaetano Donizetti: Maria Stuarda, Act I

Maria Stuarda, Act I: Ah! quando all'ara scorgemi - Ah! dal ciel discenda un raggio

Gaspare Spontini: La vestale, Act II

La vestale, Act II: Tu che invoco con orrore

Click on any of the works listed above for alternative recordings.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.