Saint-Saëns - Le Carnaval des Animaux

Virgin: 5456032

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Saint-Saëns - Le Carnaval des Animaux


Gramophone Magazine

Disc of the Month - January 2004



Catalogue No:




Release date:

6th Oct 2003




62 minutes


| Share

Saint-Saëns - Le Carnaval des Animaux


Le carnaval des animaux

(chamber version)

Fantaisie for violin & harp, Op. 124

Romance in F major, Op. 36

Prière for cello & piano, Op. 158

Mon cœur s'ouvre à ta voix (from Samson et Dalila)

(arr. Georges Papin for cello and piano)

Septet in E flat major for piano, trumpet, 2 violins, viola, cello and double bass Op. 65

Renaud Capuçon (violin), Gautier Capuçon (cello), Frank Braley (piano), Michel Dalberto (piano), Emmanuel Pahud (flute), Paul Meyer (clarinet), David Guerrier (trumpet), Marie-Pierre Langlamet (harp), Béatrice Muthelet (viola), Esther Hoppe (violin), Janne Saksala (double bass), Florent Jodelet (percussion)



In stock - usually despatched within 1 working day.

Camille Saint-Saens: Le Carnaval des animaux (ed. Durand)

No. 1- Introduction et marche royale du lion [Andante maestoso]

No. 2- Poules et coqs [Allegro moderato]

No. 3- Hémiones (animaux véloces) [Presto furioso]

No. 4- Tortues [Andante maestoso]

No. 5- L'éléphant [Allegro pomposo]

No. 6- Kangourous [Moderato]

No. 7- Aquarium [Andantino]

No. 8- Personnages à longues oreilles [Tempo ad libitum]

No. 9- Le coucou au fond des bois [Andante]

No. 10- Volière [Moderato grazioso]

No. 11- Pianistes [Allegro moderato]

No. 12- Fossiles [Allegro ridicolo]

No. 13- Le cygne [Andantino grazioso]

No. 14- Final [Molto allegro]

Camille Saint-Saens: Fantaisie pour violon et harpe op. 124

Fantaisie pour violon et harpe op. 124

Camille Saint-Saens: Romance pour violoncelle et piano op. 36

Romance pour violoncelle et piano op. 36

Camille Saint-Saens: Prière pour violoncelle et piano op. 158

Prière pour violoncelle et piano op. 158

Camille Saint-Saens, Georges Papin: 'Mon coeur s'ouvre à ta voix' extract from Samson et Dalila

'Mon coeur s'ouvre à ta voix' extract from Samson et Dalila

Camille Saint-Saens: Septet in E flat Op. 65

Préambule: allegro moderato

Menuet: Tempo di minuetto moderato

Intermède: andante

Gavotte & Final: allegro non troppo

Gramophone Classical Music Guide


“'What hard things,' wrote Saint-Saëns, 'have been said against virtuosity!… The fact must be proclaimed from the house-tops – in art a difficulty overcome is a thing of beauty.' There are many such beauties in Le Carnaval des animaux, and their difficulties aren't for the faint-hearted or the technically challenged, especially where the two pianists are concerned. On this disc not only are the difficulties overcome, but dispatched with tremendous verve and wit.
In the Septet the players rightly refuse to make more of the music than is really there. This light touch allows us to relish Saint-Saëns's professionalism: every part in the texture has its own shape and colour and, if there were compositional difficulties to be overcome, you'd never know. The four shorter pieces on this splendid disc include the delicious Fantaisie for violin and harp, and three arrangements for cello and piano taken from the horn, organ and operatic repertoires.”

Click on any of the works listed above for alternative recordings.

Copyright © 2002-16 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.