Vaughan Williams: Dona Nobis Pacem & Sancta Civitas

Warner Classics: 7547882

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Vaughan Williams: Dona Nobis Pacem & Sancta Civitas


Building a Library

Also Recommended - July 2017

Catalogue No:







72 minutes


| Share

Vaughan Williams: Dona Nobis Pacem & Sancta Civitas

Vaughan Williams:

Dona Nobis Pacem

Sancta Civitas



(Sorry, download not available in your country)

In stock - usually despatched within 1 working day.

Ralph Vaughan Williams: Dona nobis pacem

I. Agnus Dei -

II. Beat! beat! drums! -

III. Reconciliation -

IV. Dirge for Two Veterans -

V. The Angel of Death has been abroad -

VI. O man greatly beloved

Ralph Vaughan Williams: Sancta Civitas

I was in the spirit (Lento)

And I saw Heaven opened (Allegro)

And I saw an angel standing in the sun (Meno mosso)

Babylon the great is fallen (Lento)

Rejoice over her O Heavens (Allegro moderato)

And I saw a new heaven (Adagio)

Therefore are they before the throne of God (Poco meno largo)

And I saw a pure river

Holy, Holy, Holy (Andante sostenuto)

Heaven and earth are full of Thy glory (Poco animato)

BBC Music Magazine

May 2010

“...Richard Hickox [has a] superb team on his outstanding version: Yvonne Kenny, a top-form Bryn Terfel and a tiny but telling contribution from the late and very much lamented Philip Langridge.”

Gramophone Classical Music Guide


“This is a generous and inspiring coupling of two of Vaughan Williams's most important choral utterances.
Hickox coaxes magnificent sounds from the LSO throughout: in Dona nobis pacem, for example, the sense of orchestral spectacle during 'Beat! Beat! drums!' is riveting in its physical impact.
The London Symphony Chorus combines fullthroated discipline and sensitivity to nuance, and Hickox's trio of soloists is excellent, with Terfel outstandingly eloquent. Sancta civitas is a work whose multi-layered scoring places great demands on both conductor and production team alike: suffice it to report, it's difficult to see Hickox's inspirational account of this still-underrated score being surpassed for years to come. EMI's clean, wide-ranging sound is admirable.”

Presto Classical

David Smith

July 2014

“a stellar lineup of soloists including Bryn Terfel and Philip Langridge delivering top-notch perfomances under the baton of Richard Hickox.”

Click on any of the works listed above for alternative recordings.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.