Schubert: Piano Trios Nos. 1 & 2

ica classics: ICAD5010

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Schubert: Piano Trios Nos. 1 & 2

Catalogue No:






Release date:

7th Feb 2011




DVD Video





Historical Recordings - up to 25% off

click here for full details

special offer ends 12/09/2016

| Share

Schubert: Piano Trios Nos. 1 & 2

Signet Library, Edinburgh 21 November 1978 & 13 December 1987


Piano Trio No. 1 in B flat major, D898

Piano Trio No. 2 in E flat major, D929

Beaux Arts Trio: Menahem Pressler (piano), Isidore Cohen (violin) & Bernard Greenhouse (cello)

DVD Video

Normally: $22.75

Special: $18.20

Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

The filming of the B flat Trio was one of the Beaux Arts Trio’s last activities with Bernard Greenhouse who retired shortly afterwards. Both performances here are deeply expressive, with unexpected shadows in the sunny B flat Trio, revealing hidden depths to Schubert’s work.

The Trio has won many distinguished awards for its recordings, including the Prix Mondial du Disque, three Grand Prix du Disque, the Union de la Presse Musicale Belge Caecilia Award, the Gramophone Record of the Year, and the Stereo Review Record of the Year Award.

“I haven’t heard such playing since Cortot, Thibaud and Casals” – the distinguished French conductor, Charles Munch, on the original Trio following their first concert.

Both concerts are beautifully filmed in Edinburgh’s elegant Signet Library.


Sound format: LCPM mono

Picture format: 4:3

Running time: 81’

Subtitles: n/a

Menu languages: English

Booklet languages: E/F/G

Region code: 0

Territory Restrictions: None

Click on any of the works listed above for alternative recordings.

Copyright © 2002-16 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.