Mahler: Symphony No. 6 in A minor 'Tragic'

ica classics: ICAD5018

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Mahler: Symphony No. 6 in A minor 'Tragic'

Catalogue No:






Release date:

21st March 2011




DVD Video




| Share

Mahler: Symphony No. 6 in A minor 'Tragic'

Live From The Palais Des Beaux-Arts Brussels, 6 September 2009

La Monnaie Symphony Orchestra, Hartmut Haenchen

DVD Video


Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

This exceptional performance is part of Haenchen’s Mahler Cycle with the La Monnaie Symphony Orchestra. Haenchen is particularly renowned and respected for his interpretations of Mahler and Wagner and has had a significant presence in many of the world’s leading opera houses including Netherlands Opera, Opéra National de Paris, Munich, Vienna and the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden.

His high intellect and musical integrity can be experienced through the DVD note, which is an extract from a series of fictitious letters written by Haenchen from Mahler’s perspective – these are based on authentic documents and form a series of fourteen books.

He has made more than 120 recordings with his different orchestras (for Berlin Classics, Capriccio, Naxos, Pentatone, Philips, Sony Classical and Vanguard), and is the author of many books on music, including important studies of Wagner and Mahler.

This expressive and dramatic performance is captured live on film in LPCM Stereo and DTS 5.1 surround sound.


Sound format: LCPM stereo

+ DTS 5.0

Picture format: 16:9

Running time: 87’

Subtitles: n/a

Menu languages: English

Booklet languages: E/F/G

Region code: 0

Territory Restrictions: None

Click here for alternative recordings of this work.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.