Brahms: Symphonies Nos. 1 & 2

ica classics: ICAD5029

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Brahms: Symphonies Nos. 1 & 2

Catalogue No:






Release date:

31st May 2011




DVD Video




| Share

Brahms: Symphonies Nos. 1 & 2


Symphony No. 1 in C minor, Op. 68

Sanders Theatre, Harvard, 31 October 1961

Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 73

Sanders Theatre, Harvard, 12 April 1960

DVD Video


Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days.

Access to the publicly broadcast BSO concerts from this era has been extremely difficult even for researchers. This series of DVDs will make these performances available for the first time since they were broadcast.

Munch launched the BSO into television in 1955. He was an immensely popular conductor and well suited to being filmed. This material represents some of the earliest televised concerts with the Boston Symphony and Charles Munch, and has been restored using the greatest care and state-of-the-art techniques. It is of exceptional musical interest and rare historic value. Munch gave extensive performances of both Brahms’ symphonies during his time at the Boston Symphony, particularly during the orchestra’s many national and international tours.

Munch’s reading of both symphonies display his characteristic energy and enthusiasm, which, coupled with the BSO’s distinctive sound makes for a captivating DVD.

Two Munch/BSO DVDs from ICA Classics’ first set of releases have been awarded the Diapason d’Or in France’s Diapason magazine. This is the first DVD release.


Sound format: Ambient Mastering

Picture format: 4:3

Running time: 85’

Subtitles: n/a

Menu languages: English

Booklet languages: E/F/G

Region code: 0

Territory Restrictions: None

MusicWeb International

February 2012

“These are worthwhile acquisitions, despite their limitations in sound and picture quality. Munch’s performance of the Second I find preferable to the First, but seeing him in action – well, most of the time – is an invigorating and valuable experience.”

Click on any of the works listed above for alternative recordings.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.