Search Results

‘ NI6115 ’

Matching recordings

Prices shown exclude VAT. (UK tax is not payable for deliveries to United States.)
See Terms & Conditions for p&p rates.
Dvorak: String Quartets Nos. 9 & 14



Catalogue No:






Release date:

5th July 2010




67 minutes


| Share

Dvorak: String Quartets Nos. 9 & 14


String Quartet No. 9 in D minor, Op. 34 (B.75)

String Quartet No. 14 in A flat major, Op. 105 (B193)



Usually despatched in 4 - 5 working days.

The Wihan Quartet, formed in 1985, are heirs to the great Czech musical tradition. The Quartet’s outstanding reputation for the interpretation of its native Czech heritage and of the many classical, romantic and modern masterpieces of the string quartet repertoire is widely acknowledged. They have developed an impressive international career, which includes visits to major festivals in Europe and the Far East. They visit the United States and Japan regularly and have had highly acclaimed tours of Australia and New Zealand. They are frequent visitors to the UK and can often be heard on BBC Radio 3 as well as in concert at many venues throughout the country.

Antonín Dvořák: String Quartet No. 9 in D Minor, Op. 34, B. 75

I. Allegro

II. Alla Polka, Allegretto scherzando - Trio, quasi l'istesso tempo

III. Adagio

IV. Finale, Poco allegro

Antonín Dvořák: String Quartet No. 14 in A Flat, Op. 105, B. 193

I. Adagio ma non troppo - Allegro appassionato

II. Molto vivace

III. Lento e molto cantabile

IV. Allegro non tanto

BBC Music Magazine

Christmas 2010


“The Wihans' performance [of No. 9] goes straight to the Quartet's heart.The first movement takes a little while to settle, but, as a whole, this is an enormously impressive reading that searches out real depths, especially in the slow movement”

Gramophone Magazine

Awards Issue 2010

“[In No. 14] the Wihan Quartet connects well with the first movement's gritty arguments...The slow movement is warmly played...The polka is ideally easy-going and the strutting finale (where Brahms and Schumann are audible influences) is pert and decisive.”

Click on any of the works listed above for alternative recordings.

Copyright © 2002-17 Presto Classical Limited, all rights reserved.