Skip to main content

Browse: Tavener - Threnos

This page lists all recordings of Threnos by John Tavener (1944-2013).

Showing 1 - 6 of 6 results
Results per page:

 Pre-order  Offer 99 Words

Matthew Barley (cello), Simon Russell Beale (narrator), James Sherlock (organ), Charlotte Langley (soprano)

Voce Chamber Choir, Suzi Digby



Due for release on 24th Nov 2017

Order now and we will deliver it when available

Around Britten: Matthew Barley

Matthew Barley (cello)

His performance of the Britten lets the light in on what can seem a rather obscure, labyrinthine work: Barley's clear, calm approach lays out the score before us...The rest of the disc is like... More…




Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days

This release includes a digital booklet

 New Music For Mindfulness

Music Lab Collective (piano), Alice Rickards (violin), Sarah Curro (violin), Christopher Cartlidge (viola), Michelle Wood (cello), Ben Robertson (acoustic guitar), Alister Barker (cello), Lambert, Ben Russell (violin), Brian Snow (cello), Clarice Jensen (cello), Caleb Burhans (viola), Yuki Numata...

No digital booklet included

Out of the Night

Andrew Parrott, Taverner Choir, Leigh Nixon (tenor), Jane Atkins (viola), Moray Welsh (cello), Alastair Blayden (cello), Michael Stirling (cello), Claron McFadden (soprano)

No digital booklet included

The John Tavener Collection

Natalie Clein (cello)

English Chamber Orchestra, Temple Church Choir, Holst Singers, Stephen Layton

No digital booklet included

Essential Tavener

Ian Le Grice, Natalie Clein (cello), Andrew Rupp, Robert Millett, James Vivian, Nicola Benedetti (violin)

The Choir of the Temple Church, The Holst Singers, Brno Philharmonic Orchestra, English Chamber Orchestra, London Philharmonic Orchestra, Stephen Layton, Mikel Toms, Andrew Litton

A well-filled Tavener sampler, useful for those who haven't the inclination to brave his more expansive meditations. Accomplished performances, and good sound. More…



Usually despatched in 2 - 3 working days

This release includes a digital booklet