Skip to main content
Claude Achille Debussy

Claude Achille Debussy (1862-1918)


French composer who matched the contemporary developments in French painting with an Impressionist style in his own composition. He moved beyond the limits of traditional harmony and made use of whole-tone scales to produce works that are very atmospheric and descriptive. His tone poem for orchestra La Mer and the short rhapsodic piece Prélude à l'Après-midi d'un Faune are particularly characteristic expamples. His String Quartet in G minor is only one of a number of important and distinctive pieces of chamber music but his reputation largely rests on his extensive piano music.

Show full biography

You can view Presto's hand-picked selection of favourite Debussy recordings here.

Hide full biography
Show all works by Debussy Hide all works by Debussy Hide all works by Debussy

Recent Best Sellers: Debussy

Debussy: Pelléas et Mélisande
Debussy: Sonatas & Trios
Stravinsky: The Rite of Spring

New Releases: Debussy